Transfer a site

Learn how to transfer your site to another user or Workspace.

We’re transitioning to a new UI, and are in the process of updating our Webflow University content.

You can transfer sites between Workspaces in your Dashboard, or to other users who own Workspaces where you aren’t a member.

Note: You cannot transfer sites with active Site plans or sites currently showcased on Made in Webflow.

In this lesson, you’ll learn:

  1. What happens when you transfer a site
  2. Where to initiate a transfer
  3. How to transfer a site to another user
  4. How to transfer a site to a Workspace
  5. How to transfer a hosted site with an active Site plan
  6. How to transfer a Made in Webflow site
  7. How to transfer an Ecommerce site

What happens when you transfer a site

When you transfer a Webflow site, all of your work in the Designer gets transferred to the new Workspace, including the following content and settings:

  • Styles
  • Pages
  • Assets
  • Backup versions
  • Collections and Collection items
  • Ecommerce products, categories, order history, and payment providers
  • User accounts
  • Logic flows
  • Custom code
  • Custom fonts
  • Form submissions
  • 301 redirects
  • Other site settings

For security and privacy reasons, account- and client-specific configurations are reset to default and therefore not transferred with your site. These include:

Note: Adobe fonts are only included in a site transfer when the Adobe Fonts API key is integrated at the site level (rather than at the Workspace level). Learn more about integrating Adobe Fonts into a specific site.

Where to initiate the transfer

To access the transfer options:

  1. Go to your Site settings
  2. Click the “transfer” icon

How to transfer a site to another user

If you need to transfer your site to someone who isn’t part of the Workspace(s) you belong to, you can transfer your site to a specific recipient:

  1. Initiate the transfer
  2. Choose “To a user” in the transfer site modal
  3. Enter the email address for the recipient’s Webflow account 
  4. Click Transfer

After you’ve transferred the site, the transferred site will appear locked in your Dashboard and will show that a transfer is in progress. The recipient will receive an email and have a banner notification in their Dashboard informing them they need to accept the transfer.

Within 7 days of receiving the notification of the transfer, the recipient will need to accept the site by selecting a destination Workspace for the site. If they don’t accept the transfer within 7 days, the site becomes unlocked in your Dashboard (i.e., the original sender’s Dashboard).

Good to know: If you initiated a transfer in error, you can cancel the transfer. Click the “3 disclosure dots” under your site’s thumbnail and choose Cancel site transfer.

How to transfer a site to a Workspace

Transfer a site to a Workspace in your Dashboard

If you’re a member of multiple Workspaces, you can immediately transfer a site to any of them:

  1. Initiate the transfer
  2. Choose “To a Workspace” in the transfer site modal
  3. Choose the destination Workspace from the dropdown menu
  4. Click Transfer

Transfer a site to a Workspace on another account of yours

If you own multiple Webflow accounts (i.e., you log into Webflow accounts with different email addresses) and belong to different Workspaces on each account, you may wish to transfer a site between Workspaces on these separate accounts. First transfer the site to yourself using the email address of your other account. Then, log in to the recipient account, and transfer the site to the desired Workspace.

Transfer a site to a Workspace you’re not a part of

If you want to transfer a site to a Workspace you aren’t a member of, transfer the site to a user who is a member of that other Workspace. They’ll be able to transfer the site to the desired Workspace in their Dashboard.

How to transfer a hosted site with an active Site plan

At the moment, you can’t directly transfer a site with an active Site plan. You’ll need to either transfer a duplicate of the site or downgrade the site to a Starter Site plan before transferring.

Note: If you wish to duplicate a site that uses a premium template, you’ll need to repurchase the template for the duplicate site. Learn more about templates.

Transfer a duplicate of the site

To ensure minimal downtime when transferring a duplicate of the hosted site, we recommend the following steps:

  1. Duplicate the site you wish to transfer
  2. Transfer the duplicate site to another user or Workspace
  3. Remove the Site plan from the original site
  4. Add a Site plan to the duplicate site
  5. Add your custom domain to the duplicate site and publish
Important: Duplicating a site resets some site-wide configurations and settings to default. Some settings and information, like form submissions and previous backup versions, won’t be included on the duplicated and transferred site. Learn more about what happens when a site is duplicated.

Transfer the original site

If you want to include information such as form submissions and previous backup versions with the transfer, you’ll need to transfer the original site to the Workspace or user of your choice. To keep a copy of the site before transferring the original, you can duplicate the site into your own Workspace. 

Remember, transferring a site to a user who is not a member of your Workspace(s) is irreversible unless you cancel the transfer before the recipient accepts it, or the new owner (who either has a Workspace owner or site admin role) transfers it back to you.

To transfer the original site:

  1. (Optional) Duplicate the site you wish to transfer and keep the duplicate in your Workspace
  2. Remove the Site plan from the original site
  3. Transfer the original site to another user or Workspace
  4. Add a Site plan to the transferred site
  5. Add your custom domain to the transferred site and publish

How to transfer a Made in Webflow site

If your site is showcased on Made in Webflow, remove it from Made in Webflow to unlock the site transfer feature.

Additionally, you’ll need to remove all site contributors from Creator Credits before transferring a site. Once the site is transferred, you can re-add the contributors to the site’s Creator Credits so they can continue showcasing the site on Made in Webflow.

How to transfer an Ecommerce site

You can transfer an Ecommerce store just like any other site, but there are some key details to keep in mind:

  • Order history is transferred with the store, including fulfilled, unfulfilled, refunded, and disputed orders
  • Payment providers (e.g., Stripe, Paypal) stay connected when you transfer a store, so you may want to manually disconnect payment providers before initiating a transfer
  • Site plans can’t be transferred with a site, so the new store owner will need to add a new Ecommerce site plan and re-enable checkout to process payments
  • New store owners will be able to fulfill previous orders, but if they update any payment accounts, they won’t be able to refund prior orders
  • If you also have User Accounts enabled, all active subscriptions must be cancelled prior to transfer

Table of contents

Continue learning

Hmm…we couldn’t find any results for “search query”. Try a different search term or check out our community forum.

Search the forumReset the filter
Load more

Filter

Reset
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Topics
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Back to top