Delete Collections

Remove CMS connections and delete Collections.

We’re transitioning to a new UI, and are in the process of updating our Webflow University content.

You can delete Collections when you no longer need them. Deleting a Collection also removes its Collection page from your site.

Good to know: Removing connections and deleting Collections may affect your visual design and code embeds. It also can’t be undone, unless you restore your site from a backup. Before removing connections and deleting a Collection, you can manually save a backup of your site by pressing Command + Shift + S (on Mac) or Control + Shift + S (on Windows).

You can delete a Collection in three steps:

  1. Delete all Collection items from the Collection
  2. Remove all connections to the Collection and its fields
  3. Delete the Collection from Collection settings

Delete all Collection items from the Collection

To delete all Collection items from the Collection, follow the steps to bulk-edit Collection items, click Delete, and wait for your site to save.

Remove all connections to the Collection and its fields

After deleting all Collection items from the Collection, you’ll need to remove connections to the Collection and its fields (e.g., disconnect dynamic elements from the Collection).

You can do this in one of two ways:

Remove connections and keep Collection list designs on your site

If you want to disconnect Collection lists from their dynamic content and keep their static designs on your site (except on the Collection page, which will be deleted):

  1. Go to CMS panel > Collection settings
  2. Click View connections
  3. Click the “arrow” icon to expand and view connections
  4. Hover over each field and click the “unlink” icon to disconnect it
  5. Hover over each Collection list and click the “unlink” icon to disconnect it  
Important: You must disconnect Collection fields before you can disconnect Collection lists.

Remove connections and delete Collection lists from your site

If you want to remove all Collection lists and their static designs across your site:

  1. Go to CMS panel > Collection settings
  2. Click View connections
  3. Click the “arrow” icon to expand and view connections
  4. Click the “eye” icon next to each Collection list to visit the page where it exists on your site
  5. Delete the corresponding Collection list on the page

Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all Collection lists and connected have been removed and disconnected. You can follow the same steps to delete any remaining linked elements on a Collection page.

Delete the Collection from Collection settings

After you’ve deleted all Collection items in the Collection and disconnected any elements linked to the Collection, you can delete the Collection in CMS panel > Collection settings by clicking Delete and confirming your choice.

Note: If you want to remove CMS from your site entirely to downgrade to the Basic Site plan, you can delete all Collections from your site using the steps above. If you have any content editors on your site, you’ll also need to remove them before you can downgrade your Site plan.

Table of contents

Continue learning

Hmm…we couldn’t find any results for “search query”. Try a different search term or check out our community forum.

Search the forumReset the filter
Load more

Filter

Reset
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Topics
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Back to top