Back to all lessons
Lesson library

Workspace roles and permissions

As you add members to your Workspace, you can control who can access sensitive controls like billing details, or take important actions like publishing the website.

This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!
Clone this project

In this lesson we’ll cover all the details you need to know about Workspace roles and permissions, including:

  1. Workspace-level roles and permissions
  2. Site-level roles and permissions
  3. Publishing permissions for guest editors

Workspace-level roles and permissions

Note: Workspace-level permissions are available on the Core, Growth, and Enterprise Workspace plans.
Workspace owners, admins, and members, have various permissions in a Workspace. 

At the Workspace level, you can invite and set teammates as owners, admins, and members, with varying levels of permissions for each. Let’s walk through each of the roles and how you can set and modify them. 

Workspace Owner role

Owners can:

  • Edit the Workspace plan and settings
  • Add, update, or remove the credit card on file
  • Update invoicing settings
  • Download invoices
  • Access all sites within a Workspace
  • Invite and remove members from the Workspace
  • Manage member permissions
  • Configure integrations
  • Update Workspace templates
  • Request transfer of Workspace ownership to an admin 
  • Delete the Workspace

Workspace Admin role

Admins can:

  • Edit the Workspace plan and settings
  • Add, update, or remove the credit card on file
  • Update invoicing settings
  • Download invoices
  • Access all sites within a Workspace
  • Invite and remove members from the Workspace (excluding removal of the owner)
  • Manage member permissions
  • Configure integrations
  • Update Workspace templates

Workspace Member role

Members can:

  • Download invoices
  • Access all sites within a Workspace
  • Invite members to the Workspace
  • Configure integrations
  • Update Workspace templates

Set or modify Workspace roles

When you invite a new member to your Workspace, you can select their role prior to sending the invite. 

You can set a new Workspace member’s role before sending their invite.

You can also modify your members’ roles in Workspace settings > Members tab.

You modify Workspace members’ roles in the Members tab of your Workspace settings.

Learn more about how to invite team members to your Workspace.

Site-level roles and permissions

Note: Site-level permissions are available on the Growth and Enterprise Workspace plans only.
Workspace members have various site admin, design, and publish permissions within sites in the Workspace. 

On a site-by-site level, you can control which members can publish sites or take administrative actions like deleting or transferring sites out of your Workspace.

By default, all Workspace members are able to design and publish all sites in your Workspace, and Workspace owners and admins can take administrative actions as site admins for all sites.

To edit site-level permissions for teammates in your Workspace:

  1. Open the Site settings of the site whose members you want to manage
  2. Go to the Members tab 
  3. Locate the Site members section
You can view site members in the Members tab of a site’s settings.

In this section you’ll see a list of all Workspace members as well as their respective site roles. Workspace owners can only be assigned a site admin role, but all other Workspace members can have 1 of 4 roles assigned to them, with varying levels of permissions for each. Let’s walk through them. 

You can set site members’ permissions to Site admin, Can design & publish, Can design, or Can design (limited).

Site admin role

Members with a Site admin role can: 

  • Transfer the site out of the Workspace
  • Delete the site
  • Manage and view billing information
  • Purchase a site plan for the site
  • Open the site in and design in the Designer
  • Create new classes and symbols
  • Modify existing classes and symbols
  • Publish changes to the live site

Can design & publish role

Members with a Can design & publish role can:

  • Open the site in and design in the Designer
  • Create new classes and symbols
  • Modify existing classes and symbols
  • Publish changes to the live site

Can design role

Members with a Can design role can: 

  • Open the site in and design in the Designer
  • Create new classes
  • Modify existing classes and symbols
  • Make changes to the site and publish single items in CMS Collections, but cannot publish the entire site

Can design (limited) role

Note: The Can design (limited) role is only available to Webflow Enterprise customers and Enterprise Partners. 

Members with a Can design (limited) role can:

  • Open the site in and design in the Designer
  • Create new classes
  • Modify classes they create, but cannot modify existing classes or symbols
  • Make changes to the site and publish single items in CMS Collections, but cannot publish the entire site

Because members with this role can create new classes, that functionality extends to creating new combo classes from existing global classes, too. 

A member with the Can design (limited) role creates a new combo class from existing individual global classes (e.g., when paired together, the “hero-section” and “grid” classes form a combo class).

Members with the Can design (limited) role can override individual global class’s inherited values (e.g., individual “hero-section” and “grid” class values) in a new combo class. However, the overridden values in the combo class won’t affect the original values of the individual global classes. 

A member with the Can design (limited) role has created a new combo class from existing individual global classes (e.g., the 2 global classes “hero-section” and “grid”). Because the combo class is new, the member can make changes in the Style panel, and override values inherited from the 2 individual global classes in the new combo class.

Publishing permissions for guest editors

Note: You can only restrict guest editor publishing on sites in Growth and Enterprise Workspaces.

If any sites in your Workspace use either a CMS, Business, or Ecommerce site plan, those site plans allow you to invite clients, teammates, or other contributors as guest editors. Guest editors can add CMS content and edit page settings (like SEO metadata or Open Graph markup) in the Editor.

You can control which guest editors are allowed to publish the entire website: 

  1. Open the settings of the site whose guest editors you want to manage
  2. Go to the Members tab 
  3. Scroll to the Guest editors section
You can invite and view guest editors of a site in the Members tab of a site’s settings.

In this section you’ll see a list of all guest editors, whether their invite is pending, and their respective guest editor role (after their invite has been accepted). You can assign 1 of 2 roles to guest editors, with varying levels of permissions for each. Let’s walk through them. 

Can edit & publish role

Guest editors with a Can edit & publish role can: 

  • Open the site in the Editor
  • Make content edits
  • Stage changes to your site
  • Publish individual CMS items
  • Publish the whole site

Can edit role

Guest editors with a Can edit role can: 

  • Open the site in the Editor
  • Make content edits
  • Stage changes to your site, but cannot publish changes to the live site
You can set guest editors’ permissions to Can edit or Can edit & publish.

If you’ve restricted any guest editors from publishing, they will still be able to publish individual CMS items that don’t impact any in-progress designs. However, they will not be able to publish the whole site at once, which can safeguard against accidentally pushing in-progress work to the live site.

Good to know: You must publish your site before inviting guest editors.

Learn more about how to invite guest editors to collaborate on editing site content.

Try Webflow — it's free