Back to all lessons
Lesson library

Publish your Webflow site

Publish your Webflow-hosted site changes to see them live on the web — instantly!

Note: We’re transitioning to Workspaces, and this lesson has been updated to reflect that change. Visit the Workspaces blog post to read more about these updates and changes. 
If your account hasn’t yet switched over to Workspaces, please visit our legacy lesson about publishing. You can also learn how to check if your account is on Workspaces.
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!

Whether you’re in the Designer or the Editor, publishing your site pushes all your changes to the web instantly, without the hassle of file and server management or version overrides. 

By default, your site will publish to the Webflow staging subdomain (e.g., yoursite.webflow.io). If you add hosting, you can also publish your site to your custom domain (e.g., yourdomain.com).   

In this lesson, you’ll learn: 

  1. How to publish your site
  2. How to publish individual Collection items
  3. How to unpublish your site
  4. How to use the Webflow staging subdomain for testing and feedback
  5. Advanced publishing options

How to publish your site

You can publish all site changes and updates from the Designer, Editor, or Site settings

Publishing from the Designer or Site settings

  1. Click Publish
  2. Check the domain(s) you want to publish to
  3. Click Publish to selected domains
The publish modal window includes two publish destinations with a check box for each, an advanced options button, a close button and a publish to selected domains button.
After clicking on the blue publish button a modal window has appeared with two publish destinations with a check box each, a blue publish to selected domains button and a cancel button.
Pro tip: You can quickly publish changes from the Designer with keyboard shortcuts. Press Shift + P to open the publish menu, double-check which domains are selected, and press Shift + Enter to publish to all selected domains.

Publishing from the Editor

Publishing any changes made in the Editor also pushes any changes made in the Designer out to the web. To publish your entire site from the Editor:

  1. Click Publish to preview a summary of your changes
  2. Click Publish changes to publish all changes and updates
The publish preview includes three changes that have been made through the Editor, a cancel button and a Publish 3 changes button.
Important: When you publish from the Editor, your site will publish to both the webflow.io staging subdomain and any custom domain(s) you’ve added to your site.

How to publish individual Collection items

If you want to publish or update a single Collection item without publishing your entire site, choose Publish after creating, editing, or saving the item. Learn more about creating and publishing Collection items.

The save button has been clicked and a modal window (highlighted) includes a Publish, save as draft, and schedule options. There is also a notice saying "Publish the item to your live site."

How to unpublish your site

You can unpublish your site from any or all of your domains from the Designer or Site settings. Unpublishing works immediately, but you can always republish by checking the domain(s) and publishing again.

To quickly unpublish your site from all domains and subdomains, click the Unpublish icon in your Site settings.

The toolbar in the project settings includes icons for transfer, delete, duplicate and unpublish (highlighted). To the right of the icons are buttons for share, designer, editor and publish.

To unpublish your site from a single domain:

  1. Open your site in the Designer or go to Site settings
  2. Click Publish 
  3. Click Unpublish next to the domain you want to unpublish your site from
The publish modal window in the Designer includes a Unpublish button (highighted) under the domain address.
The Publish modal window includes a Unpublish button (highlighted) under the domain address and next to the time stamp of when it was published.

How to use the Webflow staging subdomain for testing and feedback

To test custom code or get feedback and approval on your site design, you can publish your site to the Webflow staging subdomain (e.g., yoursite.webflow.io) – without also pushing those changes out to your custom domain. 

Pro tip: You can prevent your webflow.io site from appearing in search results. Learn more about disabling search engine indexing of the Webflow subdomain.

To publish to the staging subdomain without publishing to your custom domain: 

  1. Open your site in the Designer or go to Site settings
  2. Click Publish 
  3. Check the Webflow staging subdomain (e.g., yoursite.webflow.io)
  4. Uncheck your custom domain
  5. Click Publish to select domains
Important: When you publish from the Editor, your site will publish to both the webflow.io staging subdomain and custom domain(s).

You can specify your subdomain under Site settings > General tab.

The subdomain input field is highlighted in the General settings section of the Project Settings page. The subdomain is filled out with the address awesomeportfolio3000.webflow.io
Note: If you change your site’s subdomain, both your staging domain (e.g., yoursite.webflow.io) and your site’s read-only link will be replaced instantly – meaning, if you’ve shared these links, they won’t be accessible any longer. 

Advanced publishing options

Advanced publishing options are located in the publishing dropdown in the Designer or under Site settings > Publishing tab > Advanced publishing options. s

These allow you to Enable/disable SSL, Minify HTML, CSS, and/or JS, and choose to use Secure frame headers to restrict where your site can be embedded. Learn more about advanced publishing options.

Advanced publishing options include the option to enable SSL, minify HTML, CSS, and JS, and use secure frame headers.


Try Webflow — it's free