Back to all lessons
Lesson library

Site Activity log

Use the Site Activity log to track and diagnose important design changes made to your site, including what changes were made, when they were made, and by whom.

This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!
Note: The Site Activity log is available for Webflow Enterprise customers and Enterprise partners. Any team member in the Designer (using Design mode or Edit mode) can see the Site Activity log and its details.

In this lesson, you’ll learn:

  1. When to use the Site Activity log
  2. How to use the Site Activity log

When to use the Site Activity log

The Site Activity log is a panel (called Site Activity), and is located on the left side of the Designer.

The Site Activity log is shown in the left panel of the Designer.

The Site Activity log gives you and your teammates valuable visibility into the most important design changes made to your site, and can help with the following 2 scenarios: 

Disaster recovery

When you or your team discover a site issue, it can be difficult to diagnose and slow to locate the change that caused the issue — it may even require you to restore your site from a backup. To avoid this time consuming process, you can use the Site Activity log to quickly determine which change caused the issue, and rapidly get a fix in place. 

Team visibility

When you’re working on a large team with multiple ongoing initiatives, you might find it difficult to keep track of your design’s progress. You can use the Site Activity log to gain visibility into your teammates’ work to understand which changes have been made. This is also valuable for teams working with partners – the team gains visibility into the partner’s work, and the partners gain visibility into the team’s work.

How to use the Site Activity log

To get familiar with the Site Activity log, let’s walk through: 

Which activities are tracked

The Site Activity log tracks 6 of the most important design changes made to your site:

  • Class changes, including class creation, modification, and deletion. This covers global classes, base classes, combo classes, HTML tags, and states. Existing class usage on elements is not tracked.
  • Symbol changes, including Symbol creation, modification, and deletion. Existing Symbols usage is not tracked.
  • Custom code changes, including custom code creation, modification, and deletion. This covers custom code changes made in site settings, page settings, and via HTML embeds (but not from HTML embeds in CMS items).
  • Backups, including backup creation and restoration. This covers manual backups and system-generated backups.
  • Pages, including page creation, deletion, duplication, and renaming. This does not include the auto-creation of Collection pages, or enabling or disabling page-level password protection. 
  • Publish events, including site publish and unpublish events from the Designer, Editor, and Dashboard. Publishing to multiple domains results in multiple publish events.  
Note: Activities are tracked on the site level (not on the page level or Workspace level).
A list of tracked activities is shown in the Site Activity log.

Each tracked activity shows:

  • The date and time of the activity (using your local timezone)
  • Which team member made the change

The Site Activity log displays 50 activities before a “Load more activity” button appears. Click the button to reveal additional past activities.

You can also press the “collapse all” or “expand all” activities icon in the top right of the Site Activity log to be able to quickly parse through a high volume of activity logs organized by days. 

The Collapse all button and its tool tip is shown in the Site Activity log, along with a list of activities organized by day.

Which activities aren’t tracked

The Site Activity log doesn’t track all changes made to a site. For example, it does not track:

  • Changes to the CMS or static content
  • Changes to the HTML structure of a page, including the addition, deletion, or reordering of elements
  • Descriptions of the changes that were made to classes, symbols, or custom code (e.g., button class modified: color changed from #0000FF to #00FF00) 
  • Administrative changes (e.g. billing, plan, or team management updates)

How activities are tracked

Activities are only tracked when your site is saved. This means that if you make a change and undo it before the site saves, it will not show up in the Site Activity log. To ensure changes record to the Site Activity log, you can save your site in 2 ways:

  • Manually save your site by pressing Command + Shift + S (on Mac) or Control + Shift + S (on Windows)
  • Rely on automatic site saves (e.g., sites auto-save after 10 seconds of inactivity, or every 30 seconds while active)

Most activities recorded in the Site Activity log are view-only, with the exception of 2 activities that can be clicked to show more information:

  • Press the “eye” icon next to Backup created activity to open the backup preview in a new tab in view-only mode
  • Press the “list” icon next to Class modified activity to show a list of elements affected on the current page, on other pages, and any affected Symbols
Backup created activity is shown, along with the eye icon you can press to view a preview of the backup.
A modal showing elements affected on this page, elements affected on other pages, and Symbols affected is shown after clicking the list icon in the Site Activity log.

All activities are static. This means that old activities won’t be updated when you make changes to the site. For example:

  • If you rename a page, the Site Activity log will continue to show the previous name of the page in old activities
  • If you publish the site, then unpublish it, the old publish activity will remain in the Site Activity log
  • If you make a backup, then delete that backup, the old backup activity will remain in the Site Activity log, but clicking it will return an error
Good to know: Activities recorded in the Site Activity log do not expire, and will always be visible. You can view older activities by clicking the “Load more activity” button at the bottom of the log. 
Try Webflow — it's free