Use the Pages panel to access, organize, sort, and manage your pages and page settings.
Note: We’re transitioning to Workspaces, and this lesson has been updated to reflect that change. Visit the Workspaces blog post to read more about these updates and changes.
The Pages panel shows you the structure of your website — your site pages and the folders that house those pages. Here, you can perform a variety of operations such as managing pages and folders, organizing them, and changing page settings.
In this lesson, you’ll learn:
You can create new site pages in the Pages panel. To add a page to your site:
Sites on the free Starter plan are limited to 2 pages. Sites on all other site plans (Basic, CMS, Business, Ecommerce, and Enterprise) have a limit of 100 pages. This limit exists to ensure optimal Designer performance.
If you need more pages than the 100 page limit, you can use CMS Collections and CMS items for pages that use the same template and structure. Learn more about the CMS Collections and CMS item limits on site plans.
When you create a page, you’ll see the New page settings panel where you can name your page and adjust a variety of settings.
In the New page settings panel, you can:
You can also set a number of other page-wide settings. We cover these in separate lessons in more detail:
When you finish setting up your page, you can choose to either create the new page, save the changes you made to a pre-existing page, or save the page as draft.
Saving a page as draft ensures that the page won’t be published when you publish the site from the Designer. It also ensures that the page won’t be published when you, a Workspace member, or a content editor publishes the site from the Editor. Learn more about drafted pages.
You can duplicate a page along with all of its settings and content. You can also delete a page from your site.
Duplicating a page creates a duplicate copy of both the content and settings of your page. To duplicate a page:
You can delete a page by clicking the “trash” icon in Page settings.
Important: You cannot undo a page delete operation. The only way to restore a deleted page is to restore a site backup from the Backups tab of your Site settings. Learn more about site backups.
You can’t delete a page that is set as the homepage. If you need to delete the homepage, first set another page as the homepage, then delete the old homepage.
Important: Make sure to set 301 redirects for any site pages you delete.
You can organize pages by reordering them or placing them in folders. You can also use the page search feature to quickly locate your pages and folders.
You can reorder the pages in your Pages panel. To reorder pages:
You can organize your site pages within folders. You can create folders by opening the Pages panel and clicking the “Create new folder” icon. When you create a new folder, you can name it, give it a custom slug, and set a parent folder (if you want). You can also set Password protection on a folder if you have a site plan. Learn more about password protection.
To add a page to a parent folder, you can:
To remove a page from a parent folder, you can:
You can also add folders to or remove folders from parent folders using the steps above. Learn more about folders.
Important: Moving pages/folders into or out of parent folders will change the URL path of those pages/folders. If you’ve already published these pages/folders, this will result in broken links. You can redirect your pages/folders to new URLs using 301 redirects.
To search for a page or folder in the Pages panel:
Once you find what you're looking for, you can open the page in the Designer or access the settings of the page or folder.
You can also search for pages using quick find. To access quick find, click Command + E (on Mac) or Control + E (on Windows). Learn more about quick find.