Back to all lessons
Lesson library

Save & restore backups

Learn how to create backup points and restore previously saved versions of your Webflow site.

Note: We’re transitioning to Workspaces, and this lesson has been updated to reflect that change. Visit the Workspaces blog post to read more about these updates and changes.
If your account hasn’t yet switched over to Workspaces, please visit our legacy lesson about how to save & restore backups. You can also learn how to check if your account is on Workspaces.
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!

Webflow automatically creates site backups as you work. All site plans (Starter, Basic, CMS, Business, and Enterprise) have unlimited backups.

Note: Webflow doesn’t offer scheduled backups but restore points are created automatically on every 10th auto-save.

In this lesson, you’ll learn:

  1. How to save a backup
  2. How to preview and restore backup versions
Important: When you perform a restore from a backup, all CMS Collection and item IDs will refresh. This refresh will affect API calls and third-party connections that use Collection or item IDs. You will need to reconnect them to the refreshed items. Please make sure you want to perform this action before restoring from backup.

How to save a backup

Restore points are created automatically on every 10th auto-save. They are also created when restoring to a previous version.

The “Changes saved” checkmark is highlighted in the Designer’s top toolbar.
Important: Before you manually create a backup restore point, make sure you see the “Changes saved” checkmark in the top toolbar of the Designer. This confirms the most recent changes to your canvas are saved and will be part of the backup.

To manually create a backup restore point in the Designer:

  1. Click Command + Shift + S (on Mac) or Control + Shift + S (on Windows)
  2. Add a Description
  3. Click Save

How to preview and restore backup versions

You can access your site backups from Site settings > Backups. Here, you can preview any backup to make sure you're restoring the right version.

Just in case, Webflow saves the current version of your site when you restore to a previous version. Images and other assets are saved and restored with a backup.

The Backups tab, Preview button, and Restore button are highlighted in Site settings.

You can also access your site backups directly from the Designer:

  1. Open the Settings panel
  2. Click Backups
The Backups section is expanded from the Backups tab in the Settings panel. Three automatic backups are visible.

In the Backups section, you can hover over a backup version, then click the “eye” icon to preview the version in a new tab. You can also click the “three disclosure dots” icon to restore a backup, rename a backup, debug a backup, or copy the snapshot path.

Try Webflow — it's free