Whether you're in the Designer or the Editor, publishing a project pushes all your changes to the web instantly. It does this without you having to mess with file management, version overrides, or mind-numbing FTP insanity.

Good to know
By default, your project will publish to the staging Webflow subdomain: yoursite.webflow.io. If you add hosting, you can also publish your project to your custom domain (e.g. yourdomain.com).
In this lesson

Publish the whole project

There are two ways to publish all changes and updates made in your project:

  • Publishing in the Designer or the project settings
  • Publishing in the Editor

Publishing in the Designer or project settings

  1. Press publish
  2. Select the domain(s) you want to publish to
  3. Publish your project
Publishing your Webflow project in the Designer
Publishing your project in the Designer
‍Publishing your Webflow project from the Project Settings
Publishing your project from the Project Settings
Shortcut keys

To quickly publish changes from within the Designer:

  1. Press SHIFT + P to open the publish menu
  2. Double-check what domains are selected
  3. Press SHIFT + ENTER to publish to all selected domains

Publishing in the Editor

  1. Press publish to preview a summary of your changes
  2. Press the second publish button to publish your changes
Publishing your Webflow project in the Editor
Publishing your project in the Editor
Must know
Publishing in the Editor also pushes live any changes made in the Designer.

Publish individual Collection items

If you want to publish or update a single item without publishing your entire project, just choose publish when creating or saving an item. Learn more about creating and publishing Collection items as well as publishing restrictions.

Unpublishing

You can unpublish your project from any or all of your domains from within the Designer or the project settings. Unpublishing works instantaneously, but you can always republish by checking the domain(s) and publishing again.

To unpublish your site from all domains and subdomains, press the unpublish icon in your project settings.

To unpublish your site from one of the domains:

  1. Press publish in your project settings or in the Designer
  2. Click unpublish next to the domain you want to unpublish your project from
Unpublishing your Webflow project in the Designer
Unpublishing your project in the Designer
Unpublishing your Webflow project in the Project Settings
Unpublishing your project in the Project Settings
Good to know
If you're using a custom domain (e.g. yoursite.com), you can prevent your .webflow.io site from being indexed by following this guide.

Using .webflow.io as a staging domain for testing and feedback

You can always publish your Webflow project to your .webflow.io subdomain to test how your site looks in various browsers and on various devices. 

If you have a custom domain configured, you can choose to publish changes to your .webflow.io subdomain to test custom code or get feedback and approval from clients, fellow designers, or friends. In the Designer or the project settings, press publish, then uncheck the custom domain. Publish the changes to the .webflow.io site.

Good to know
You can specify your subdomain under project settings → general settings.
If you change your project's subdomain, both your staging domain (myproject.webflow.io) and your project's read-only link will be replaced instantly. Meaning, if you've shared these links in a forum or privately, the links won't be accessible any longer. To fix the links, you'll have to change the subdomain again and reuse the old name.
My staging site is not secure. How can I fix that?

Re-publish your project to the .webflow.io subdomain to fix issues security issues.

Advanced publishing options

Advanced publishing options are located under project settings →hosting → Advanced publishing options.

Enable SSL

SSL is enabled by default for projects created after 14 November 2018. If your project was created before that date, make sure to enable SSL and save the changes.

You can switch SSL off, however note that sites that don't use SSL may be labeled "not secure" by some browsers, strongly discouraging people from visiting your site. Also, if you disable SSL on sites using Ecommercecheckout will be disabled and your online store will not function. The add to cart button as well as other Ecommerce elements will stop working as well.

Each time you disable or enable SSL on a Webflow-hosted site, you'll need to update your DNS settings. After you update the SSL setting, follow the steps below to update the DNS and ensure that your site works correctly.
Minify HTML, CSS, JS

Minifying your site's code can help your live website load faster, but makes your code a little harder to read. Minifying the HTML can also fix spacing issues with inline-block elements.

Here, you can minify CSS, HTML, and/or JS separately.

Use secure frame headers

Using secure frame headers protects your site from several kinds of clickjacking attacks by restricting where your site can be embedded. Enabling this option will add a couple of headers to your published pages to prevent the pages from being embedded in iframes.