Duplicate, transfer, or permanently delete a Webflow site.
Note: We're transitioning to Workspaces, and this lesson has been updated to reflect that change. Visit the blog post to read more about these updates and changes.
In this lesson we'll cover:
Note: You can only transfer or delete a site if you are a Site admin. All members can duplicate a site. Learn more about site level roles and permissions.
You may want to duplicate your site for various reasons. You can do that in 2 ways:
Important: All other site-wide configurations and settings such as form notification information, form submissions, versions, site members, guest editors, billing, and Google Analytics code will be reset to default.
Important: Please be aware that you cannot transfer a site from a Workspace account to a legacy individual or team account. However, you can transfer sites from: A legacy individual account to a legacy individual account, a legacy individual account to a legacy team account, legacy account to a Workspace account, and a Workspace account to a Workspace account. Learn how to check if your account is on Workspaces
You can transfer any sites (that aren't hosted or on Made in Webflow) between Workspaces in your Dashboard (e.g., you’re a member of each of the Workspaces). You can also transfer sites to other users who own Workspaces where you’re not a member.
Let’s walk through:
When you transfer a Webflow site, all your work in the Designer gets transferred to the new Workspace, including styles, pages, content (including CMS content), and custom code.
When you transfer the original site, the following content and settings also get transferred:
For security and privacy reasons, account- and client-specific configurations are reset to default and therefore not transferred with your site.
Adobe fonts are only included when the Adobe Fonts API key is integrated into the site and not the account. Learn more about integrating Adobe Fonts into a site.
To access the transfer options:
If you need to transfer a site to someone who is not a part of the Workspace(s) you belong to, you can choose to transfer to a specific user:
After you’ve started the transfer, the transferred site will appear locked in your Dashboard and will show that a transfer is in progress. The recipient will receive an email and see a banner notification in their Dashboard informing them they need to accept the transfer.
Within 7 days of being notified of the transfer, the recipient will need to accept it by selecting a destination Workspace for the site. If the recipient doesn't accept the transfer within 7 days, the site becomes unlocked in your Dashboard (e.g., the original sender’s Dashboard).
Let's say you own multiple individual Webflow accounts (e.g., you log into Webflow accounts with different email addresses), and you belong to different Workspaces in each account. If you want to transfer a site between Workspaces on these separate accounts, first transfer the site to yourself using the email address of the other account. Log in to the recipient account, and transfer the site to the appropriate Workspace.
If you want to transfer a site to a Workspace you're not a member of, transfer the site to a user who is a member of that other Workspace. They’ll be able to transfer the site to the appropriate Workspace in their Dashboard.
If you’re a member of multiple Workspaces, you can immediately transfer a site to any of them:
At the moment, you can't directly transfer a site with an active site plan. You'll need to either transfer a duplicate of the site or downgrade to a Starter site plan first.
To ensure the minimal amount of downtime when transferring a duplicate of the hosted site, we recommend the following steps:
If you want to include information such as form submissions and previous versions with the transfer, you'll need to transfer the original site to the Workspace or user of your choice. To keep a copy of the site before transferring the original, you can duplicate the site into your own Workspace. Remember, transferring a site to a user who is not a member of your Workspace(s) is irreversible unless you cancel the transfer before the recipient accepts it, or the new owner (who has either a Workspace owner or site admin role) transfers it back to you.
If your site is showcased on Made in Webflow, remove it from Made in Webflow to unlock the transfer feature.
You can transfer an Ecommerce store just like any other site. Here are some important details to keep in mind:
If you're having any trouble transferring your site, please contact our support team, and we'll do our best to help you resolve it.
⚠️ Deleting a site is PERMANENT and IRREVERSIBLE. ⚠️ You cannot restore deleted sites.
You can delete a site from your dashboard in 1 of 2 ways:
Once you confirm that you want to delete your site, the entire site will be deleted forever including its styles, pages, and all content (including assets like images and files). If your site has a Webflow form, existing form submissions will be deleted and no future submissions will be captured, even if this site was exported. It will also be removed from Webflow's Discover section and your Workspace and public profiles.
As a Workspace owner or site admin on a Growth or Enterprise plan, you can lower the risk of site deletion by assigning only certain team members to a site admin role.
If a team member’s role is anything other than site admin (e.g., if their roles are “Can design & publish,” “Can design,” or "Can design (limited)") those team members will not be able to delete a site from the Workspace.
Something went wrong while submitting the form. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org