Transfer projects between dashboards and accounts

Transfer a project to another Webflow account or move projects between your own dashboards.

The UI in this lesson may seem different if you've enables the Style Panel Beta! This content will be updated soon!
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!
Transfer projects between dashboards and accounts

You can transfer projects between Webflow accounts, including between your own personal and team account dashboards.

When you transfer a Webflow project, all your work in the Designer gets transferred to the new Dashboard, including styles, pages, content (including CMS content), and custom code. 

When you transfer the original project, the following content and settings also get transferred: assets, versions, custom fonts, form submissions, redirects, and other project settings. 

For security and privacy reasons, account- and client-specific configurations are reset to default and therefore not transferred with your project. These include custom domain and hosting subscriptions, collaborators, form notification information, Adobe fonts (if integrated into your account), billing and any other account- or email- specific information. Adobe fonts are only included when the Adobe Fonts API key is integrated into the project and not the account. Learn more about integrating Adobe Fonts into a project.

In this article
  1. Transfer a project out of any dashboard
  2. Transfer a project from one of your teams to your personal dashboard
  3. Transfer a project to another team dashboard
  4. Transfer a hosted project with an active site plan
  5. Transfer a showcased project

Transfer a project out of any dashboard

You can transfer any project that isn’t hosted, showcased, or protected out of any of your Dashboard and into another one.

To transfer a project, open its project settings, and click the transfer icon. Then choose where to move the project: to a user or a team.

The project will be immediately transferred out of your Dashboard and into the Dashboard of the account you select.

Transfer a project to another user

To transfer the project to another user, enter the email address of their Webflow account, then confirm and perform the transfer.

Transfer a project to one of your own teams

To transfer a project to one of your teams, select the team from the dropdown menu in the transfer window, and confirm the transfer.


Transfer a project to another team dashboard

You can't transfer projects between teams if you're not part of that team using the same personal account.

Transfer a project to a team on another account of yours

Let's say you own multiple individual Webflow accounts, and you belong to different teams on each account. If you want to transfer a project between teams on these separate accounts, first transfer the project to your other account. Then, transfer it to the team on that account.

Transfer a project to a team that you're not a member of

If you want to transfer a project to a team that you're not a member of, transfer the project to a user who is a member of that team. And they'll be able to transfer the project to their team from their dashboard.

Transfer a project from one of your teams to your personal Dashboard

You can transfer unprotected team projects to other teams or individuals.

Transfer the project to your individual Dashboard

To transfer the project to your personal Dashboard, choose to transfer to a user, enter the email address of your Webflow account, then confirm and perform the transfer.

Transfer a hosted project with an active site plan

At the moment, you can't directly transfer a project with an active hosting subscription, you'll need to either transfer a duplicate or cancel the hosting first.

Note that if you wish to duplicate a premium template, you'll need to repurchase the template.

Transfer a duplicate of the project

If you wish to transfer a duplicate of the project, we recommend the following steps to ensure the minimal amount of downtime between transferring the custom domain:

  1. Duplicate the site you wish to transfer
  2. Transfer the duplicate project
  3. Remove the hosting subscription from the original project
  4. Add a site plan to the duplicate project
  5. Add your custom domain to the project and publish

Also, note that duplicating a project resets some project-wide configurations and settings to default. This means some settings like form submissions and previous versions won't be included along with the duplicated and transferred project.

Transfer the original project

If you want to include information such as form submissions and previous versions with the transfer, you'll need to transfer the original project. You can still duplicate the project to own a backup since transferring a project is instant and irreversible unless the new owner transfers it back to you.

  1. Remove the hosting subscription from the original project
  2. Transfer the original project
  3. Add a new site plan
  4. Add your custom domain to the project and publish

Transfer a showcased project

If your project is showcased, remove it from the showcase to unlock the transfer feature.

Learn how to showcase and un-showcase a project.

Are you having trouble?

If you're having any trouble transferring your project, please don't hesitate to reach out to us, and we'll do our best to help you resolve it.


Browser support

Can I Use ? Data on support for the feature across the major browsers from caniuse.com.

Was this helpful?
OR

Thanks for the feedback! If you can, please add additional feedback below.

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Thank you! Your feedback has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form