You can transfer projects from one Webflow account to another, or from your individual account to your Team Dashboard. If a project has a hosting plan, it cannot be transferred until the hosting is removed. 

You must be on a Professional or Team plan to transfer projects to an individual.

In this article we’ll show you:

  1. How to transfer an unhosted project
  2. How to transfer a hosted project
  3. How to transfer a project to a Team Plan
  4. Things to consider before you transfer a project

How to transfer an unhosted project

  1. Go to your Project Settings
  2. Click the Transfer icon
  3. Enter the email address of the Webflow account you want to transfer to
  4. Click the Transfer button

How to transfer a hosted project

Because you can't directly transfer a project with an active hosting subscription, you'll first have to duplicate the site.  We recommend the following steps to ensure the minimal amount of downtime between transferring the custom domain:

  1. Duplicate the site you wish to transfer
  2. Transfer the duplicate site
  3. Remove the hosting subscription from the original site
  4. Add a hosting subscription to the site duplicate
  5. Add your custom domain to the project and publish

There will be a bit of downtime when doing taking these steps — it will be equal to the time it takes to complete steps 3 through 5. These steps can typically be completed in a minute or less as the DNS settings don’t need to be configured again.

Note: Duplicating a project resets all project-wide configurations and settings to default. This means previous versions are not included along with the duplicated project.

How to transfer a project to a Team

Anyone can transfer a project to and from a Team if they are a member of that Team regardless of individual Designer Plan. You can do so with the following steps:

  1. Go to your Project Settings
  2. Click the Transfer icon
  3. Select where you want to transfer the site to
  4. Click the Transfer button

Things to consider before you transfer a project

What is included in the transfer

When you transfer a Webflow website, all your work in the Designer is transferred to the new dashboard. This includes styles, pages, assets, content (including CMS content) and custom code.

Information such as assets, versions, custom fonts, form submissions, and other project settings are also transferred to the new Dashboard when the original project is transferred.

What is not included

For security and privacy reasons, the following configurations are reset to default and therefore not transferred with your project: custom domain, hosting subscriptions, collaborators, form notification information, Typekit Fonts, billing, and any other account or email specific information.

When transferring duplicates of projects form submissions, Google Analytics ID and previous versions will not be included in the transfer.