Transfer hosting between projects

Request a hosting transfer (or site plan transfer) between two projects in your individual account Dashboard.

This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!

In this lesson, you’ll learn how to determine when you might need a hosting transfer and how to request one with the following: 

  1. Understand a hosting transfer
  2. Request a hosting transfer

Understand a hosting transfer

A hosting transfer means you move hosting (also called a site plan) from one project in your account to another project in your account — all without taking your site offline. 

For example, you might have an older project in your account that currently has hosting and is already published to its custom domain. However, you’ve created a new design in your account to update your old website, and you want to seamlessly transfer the hosting from the old project to your new design without interrupting your site’s uptime. 

If you request a hosting transfer from the old project to your new project, you can avoid canceling hosting on your old project. 

Hosting transfers are only available for projects that meet the following criteria:

  • Both projects must be in the same individual account’s Dashboard
  • The original project must have an active hosting plan
  • The project to which the hosting plan will be transferred must not already have a hosting plan associated with it 
  • Neither of the two projects can be on a Team dashboard
  • If the new project to which the hosting will be transferred has CMS or Ecommerce features, the original project will also need a CMS or Ecommerce hosting plan before a hosting transfer can occur (e.g., you can upgrade your old project’s hosting plan to the hosting tier level that will accommodate the needs of your new project) 

Request a hosting transfer

While hosting transfers are not yet possible for you to do on your own, if your projects meet the criteria above, please contact support for assistance in performing the hosting transfer for you. 

For the quickest hosting transfer, be sure to include the following information in your request:

  • Your account verification details when prompted (this includes your name, the last 4 digits and expiration of your credit card on file, and your Webflow account email, which allows our support team to access your account to perform the transfer for you)
  • The subdomain.webflow.io link for the project that currently has hosting
  • The subdomain.webflow.io link for the project that you want to receive hosting

You can locate your project’s subdomain.webflow.io link by visiting your project’s General Settings tab. Your unique subdomain.webflow.io link appears in the Subdomain field under General settings.

The webflow.io subdomain of a Webflow project is highlighted to show the example subdomain of old-project-design.webflow.io.
In this example, the subdomain.webflow.io link for the old project would be “old-project-design.webflow.io.”


Once the hosting transfer is complete, our support team will let you know you can publish your new project to your custom domain. 


If your projects aren’t eligible for a hosting transfer, the other option is to cancel the site plan for the old site and start a separate site plan on the new site. For more details about this option, contact support.

Try Webflow — it's free
No items found.
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!