Publish

Publish your Webflow-hosted site changes to see them live on the web — instantly!

This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!

Whether you're in the Designer or the Editor, publishing a project pushes all your changes to the web instantly. It does this without you having to mess with file management, version overrides, or mind-numbing FTP insanity.

By default, your project will publish to the staging Webflow subdomain: yoursite.webflow.io. If you add hosting, you can also publish your project to your custom domain (e.g. yourdomain.com).

In this lesson:

  1. Publish the whole project
  2. Publish individual Collection items
  3. Unpublish your site
  4. Use .webflow.io as a staging domain for testing and feedback
  5. Explore advanced publishing options

Publish the whole project

There are two ways to publish all changes and updates made in your project:

  1. Publishing in the Designer or the project settings
  2. Publishing in the Editor

Publishing in the Designer or project settings

  1. Press publish
  2. Select the domain(s) you want to publish to
  3. Publish your project
The publish modal window includes two publish destinations with a check box for each, an advanced options button, a close button and a publish to selected domains button.
Publishing your project in the Designer
After clicking on the blue publish button a modal window has appeared with two publish destinations with a check box each, a blue publish to selected domains button and a cancel button.
Publishing your project from the Project Settings
Shortcut keys

To quickly publish changes from within the Designer:

  1. Press Shift + P to open the publish menu
  2. Double-check what domains are selected
  3. Press Shift + Enter to publish to all selected domains

Publishing in the Editor

Publishing in the Editor also pushes live any changes made in the Designer. To publish the entire site from the Editor:

  1. Press publish to preview a summary of your changes
  2. Press the second publish button to publish your changes
The publish preview includes three changes that have been made through the Editor, a cancel button and a Publish 3 changes button.
Publishing your project in the Editor

Publish individual Collection items

If you want to publish or update a single item without publishing your entire project, just choose publish when creating or saving an item.

Learn more: About creating and publishing Collection items as well as publishing restrictions

The save button has been clicked and a modal window (highlighted) includes a Publish, save as draft, and schedule options. There is also a notice saying "Publish the item to your live site."

Unpublish your site

You can unpublish your project from any or all of your domains from within the Designer or the project settings. Unpublishing works instantaneously, but you can always republish by checking the domain(s) and publishing again.

To unpublish your site from all domains and subdomains, press the unpublish icon in your project settings.

The toolbar in the project settings includes icons for transfer, delete, duplicate and unpublish (highlighted). To the right of the icons are buttons for share, designer, editor and publish.

To unpublish your site from one of the domains:

  1. Press Publish in your project settings or in the Designer
  2. Click Unpublish next to the domain you want to unpublish your project from
The publish modal window in the Designer includes a Unpublish button (highighted) under the domain address.
Unpublishing your project in the Designer
The Publish modal window includes a Unpublish button (highlighted) under the domain address and next to the time stamp of when it was published.
Unpublishing your project in the Project Settings
Good to know
If you're using a custom domain (e.g. yoursite.com), you can prevent your .webflow.io site from being indexed. Learn more: Disable search engine indexing

Use .webflow.io as a staging domain for testing and feedback

To test how your site looks, you can publish your Webflow project to your .webflow.io subdomain on various browsers and devices. 

If you have a custom domain configured, you can publish changes to your .webflow.io subdomain to test custom code or get feedback and approval. In the Designer or project settings, press publish and uncheck the custom domain. Publish the changes to the .webflow.io site.

Important
When you publish from the Editor, your site will publish to both the staging and custom domain.
Good to know 
You can specify your subdomain under project settings → general settings.
The subdomain input field is highlighted in the General settings section of the Project Settings page. The subdomain is filled out with the address awesomeportfolio3000.webflow.io
If you change your project's subdomain, both your staging domain (myproject.webflow.io) and your project's read-only link will be replaced instantly. Meaning, if you've shared these links in a forum or privately, the links won't be accessible any longer. To fix the links, you'll have to change the subdomain again and reuse the old name.
My staging site is not secure. How can I fix that?

Re-publish your project to the .webflow.io subdomain to fix issues security issues.

Explore advanced publishing options

Advanced publishing options are located in the publishing dropdown in the Designer or under project settings →hosting → Advanced publishing options. Here, you can enable/disable SSL, minify HTML, CSS, or JS, and choose to use Secure frame headers to restrict embedding your site in iframes.

The advanced publishing options has the enable SSL, minify HTML and Minify JS turned to ON.

Learn more: Advanced publishing options

Try Webflow — it's free
No items found.
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!