Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form
The Webflow Editor makes editing the website, and publishing new content, really easy for your client or your team. The Webflow Designer is a powerful tool for building websites, whereas the Webflow Editor is a simplified interface that’s focused on editing website content. You can edit content right on the page, or in the panels below the page.
Want to follow along with this lesson? Fortunately, we created a zip file which contains all the assets used in the project, and we've included that linkright here
The Editor is an interface we can use to access and edit the contents of a published site. It's what collaborators (like clients, customers) — it's where anyone can log in and get access.
If you're in a Webflow project, you can visit the Editor from the Designer over to the left, or from the Project Settings over to the right. Or, you (and any collaborators) can visit using the URL through your browser. Just add edit? Except, it's now become obvious: the question mark is at the beginning of edit. Let's try that again: just add question mark edit.
Back in our project, from our Project Settings, we can go right on over to Editor. From here, we can add and configure permissions for our collaborators, and even control branding. We can add custom branding for our organization, or a client's organization. We can do that from Project Settings.
Three brief things to note about the Editor:
#1: You can literally manipulate content on the page. Want to change some text inside a heading? You can go in and change some text inside a heading. Want to replace this image used in the image element here? You can go in and replace the image.
This applies to content in your project (we're switching back over here to the Designer) in which, on any editable element, we've gone over to our Element Settings panel and checked "Collaborators can edit this element." What does it mean when that's checked? It means collaborators can edit this element. If it's unchecked, they'll still see it in the Editor but it won't be editable.
#2: second thing to note. If you've created one or more collections, collaborators can access them. They can go into any collection. And they can click to modify an existing collection item — like a blog post — or, let's cancel out of that, they can of course create a new item — in this case a new blog post.
On the top-right, if any collaborator wants to come back to this post later — if they don't want it to publish even if we publish other changes — they can check "Draft."
That's editing collections.
#3 — the final thing we want to mention here — is that changes in the Editor? These aren't updating in real-time. The content you're changing won't go live until you or a collaborator publish the project — whether through The Editor here, or through the Designer.
Speaking of the Designer, if we're visiting the Editor from our Project? We can get back to it at any time by switching right back over.
That's the Editor. Actually, this is the Designer. That's the Editor.
Thanks for the feedback! This will help us improve our content.
Something went wrong while submitting the form. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org