Duplicate, transfer, or delete a project

Duplicate, transfer, or permanently delete a Webflow project.

This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!

In this lesson we'll cover how to: 

  1. Duplicate (or copy) a project 
  2. Transfer a project out of any dashboard
  3. Transfer a project from one of your teams to your personal dashboard
  4. Transfer a project to another team dashboard
  5. Transfer a hosted project with an active site plan
  6. Transfer a showcased project
  7. Transfer an ecommerce store from one account to another
  8. Delete a project from your dashboard

Duplicate a project

You may want to duplicate your project for various reasons. You can do that in 2 ways:

1. In your Project settings, click on the Duplicate site icon in the top bar

Duplicate a project in Webflow

2. In your Dashboard, click the ellipsis () beneath your project thumbnail. Then, click Duplicate in the project menu. Confirm in the modal by clicking Duplicate again.

Need to know
Your project, styles, pages, assets, CMS will be copied to a new project. You can edit the subdomain and the name of your new project after it has been created. Any custom code, custom fonts, and your favicon & web clip will also be copied to the new duplicate project.
Important
All other project-wide configurations and settings such as form notification information and form submissions, Versions, Collaborators, Billing, Google Analytics Code will be reset to default. 


Transfer a project

You can transfer projects between Webflow accounts, including between your own personal and team account dashboards.

When you transfer a Webflow project, all your work in the Designer gets transferred to the new Dashboard, including styles, pages, content (including CMS content), and custom code. 

When you transfer the original project, the following content and settings also get transferred: 

  • Assets
  • Versions
  • Custom fonts
  • Form submissions
  • Redirects
  • And other project settings 

For security and privacy reasons, account- and client-specific configurations are reset to default and therefore not transferred with your project. 

These include: 

  • Custom domain and hosting subscriptions
  • Collaborators
  • Form notification information
  • Adobe fonts (if integrated into your account)
  • Billing and any other account- or email- specific information

Adobe fonts are only included when the Adobe Fonts API key is integrated into the project and not the account. Learn more about integrating Adobe Fonts into a project.

Transfer a project out of any dashboard

You can transfer any project that isn’t hosted, showcased, or protected out of any of your Dashboard and into another one.

To transfer a project, open its project settings, and click the transfer icon. Then choose where to move the project: to a user or a team.

The project will be immediately transferred out of your Dashboard and into the Dashboard of the account you select.

Transfer a project to another user

To transfer the project to another user, enter the email address of their Webflow account, then confirm and perform the transfer.

Transfer a project to one of your own teams

To transfer a project to one of your teams, select the team from the dropdown menu in the transfer window, and confirm the transfer.


Transfer a project to another team dashboard

You can't transfer projects between teams if you're not part of that team using the same personal account.

Transfer a project to a team on another account of yours

Let's say you own multiple individual Webflow accounts, and you belong to different teams on each account. If you want to transfer a project between teams on these separate accounts, first transfer the project to your other account. Then, transfer it to the team on that account.

Transfer a project to a team that you're not a member of

If you want to transfer a project to a team that you're not a member of, transfer the project to a user who is a member of that team. And they'll be able to transfer the project to their team from their dashboard.

Transfer a project from one of your teams to your personal Dashboard

You can transfer unprotected team projects to other teams or individuals.

Transfer the project to your individual Dashboard

To transfer the project to your personal Dashboard, choose to transfer to a user, enter the email address of your Webflow account, then confirm and perform the transfer.

Transfer a hosted project with an active site plan

At the moment, you can't directly transfer a project with an active hosting subscription, you'll need to either transfer a duplicate or cancel the hosting first.

Note: if you wish to duplicate a premium template, you'll need to repurchase the template.

Transfer a duplicate of the project

If you wish to transfer a duplicate of the project, we recommend the following steps to ensure the minimal amount of downtime between transferring the custom domain:

  1. Duplicate the site you wish to transfer
  2. Transfer the duplicate project
  3. Remove the hosting subscription from the original project
  4. Add a site plan to the duplicate project
  5. Add your custom domain to the project and publish

Also, note that duplicating a project resets some project-wide configurations and settings to default. This means some settings like form submissions and previous versions won't be included along with the duplicated and transferred project.

Transfer the original project

If you want to include information such as form submissions and previous versions with the transfer, you'll need to transfer the original project. You can still duplicate the project to own a backup since transferring a project is instant and irreversible unless the new owner transfers it back to you.

  1. Remove the hosting subscription from the original project
  2. Transfer the original project
  3. Add a new site plan
  4. Add your custom domain to the project and publish

Transfer a showcased project

If your project is showcased, remove it from the showcase to unlock the transfer feature.

Learn how to showcase and un-showcase a project.

Transfer an ecommerce store from one account to another

You can transfer an ecommerce store just like any other project. Here are some important details to keep in mind:

  • Order history is transferred with the store, including fulfilled, unfulfilled, refunded, and disputed orders
  • Payment providers (e.g., Stripe) stay connected when you transfer a store, so you may want to manually disconnect payment providers before initiating a transfer
  • Site plans can't be transferred with a site, so the new store owner will need to add a new ecommerce site plan and re-enable checkout to process payments
  • New store owners will be able to fulfill previous orders, but if they update any payment accounts, they won't be able to refund prior orders
Are you having trouble?

If you're having any trouble transferring your project, please don't hesitate to reach out to us, and we'll do our best to help you resolve it.


Delete a project from your dashboard

⚠️ Deleting a project is PERMANENT and IRREVERSIBLE. ⚠️ You cannot restore deleted projects.

You can delete a project from your dashboard by clicking the ellipsis () beneath your project thumbnail, and choosing delete in the project menu.

Delete your project

You can also delete a project from the project settings by clicking the trashcan in the top bar.

Delete your project

Confirm project deletion

Reminder that deleting a project is permanent and irreversible — you can't restore deleted projects.

Once you confirm, the entire project will be deleted forever including its styles, pages, all content including assets (images and files). If your site has a Webflow form, existing form submissions will be deleted and no future submissions will be captured, even if this site was exported. It will also be removed from Webflow's Discover section and your public profile.

To confirm and permanently delete the project, type the name of your project when prompted and hit Delete forever.

Type the project name to confirm deletion.

Type the project name to confirm deletion.

Protect team projects from deletion

As a team owner, you can prevent project deletion by protecting your projects. In the Permissions tab of your Team settings, toggle the protection switch on for each project you want to protect. Protected projects cannot be deleted until the protection is toggled off by the team owner.


Clone this project
Try Webflow — it's free

Production for this lesson

Directed by

-

Produced by

-

Written by

-

Article by

-

Edited by

-

Designs by

-

Need more help? Want to report a bug? Contact support
Have feedback on the feature? Submit feature feedback