The Pages panel shows you the structure of your website: the pages and folders that house these pages. Here, you can perform a variety of operations such as creating and organizing pages and folders and changing page settings.

In the Page settings panel, you can manage your page’s and set general information and settings as well as manage a number of page-wide setting.

Type image caption here (optional)
In this lesson
  1. Creating a new page
  2. Managing general page settings
  3. Saving your page and page settings
  4. Duplicating and deleting pages
  5. Organizing pages

Creating a new page

You can create all your site's pages in the Pages panel. To add a page to your site, open the Pages panel and click the Create new page icon.

Creating a new page
Project page limit
Webflow limits the number of static pages and collection pages on the Free Starter plan. The page limit for premium plans and Team plans or Webflow hosted sites is 100 static pagesThe limit exists to ensure optimal Designer performance.
More pages: You can try using CMS Collections pages for pages that use the same template and structure. This allows you to have up to 50 dynamic pages on a free Starter account. On a Webflow-hosted site, you can get up to 10,000 dynamic pages based on your hosting Subscription. See a comparison of our hosting plans and their features.
Maximum number of pages: Currently, you cannot add more than 100 static pages nor more than 10,000 CMS pages. These limits exist to ensure optimal Designer performance.

Managing page settings

As soon as you create a page, you’ll see the Page settings panel where you can name your page and set a variety of settings.

Page settings

Here, you can:

  • Name your page
  • Change the automatically generated slug if you want
  • Specify the Parent folder of your page.
  • Set the page as your site's Homepage.
  • Password protect your page to keep it private.
  • Save the page or save it as draft.

You can also Duplicate or Delete your page. Read about “Duplicating and deleting pages” below.

In the Page settings, you can also set a number of other page-wide settings. We cover these in separate lessons in more detail:

Saving your page and page settings

Once you finish setting up your page, you can choose to either create that page or save the changes you made in the Pages settings, or save the page as draft.

Saving a page as draft will ensure that this page will never be published when you publish the project from the Designer or when you or a collaborator publishes the site from the Editor. Learn more about drafted pages.

Saving a page
Save a page's settings, or save the page as if you do not wish to publish it.draft

Duplicating and deleting pages

You can duplicate a page with all of its settings and content or delete it completely from your project.

Duplicating pages

You can duplicate a page from within the Page settings. This will create a copy of all the information and the settings of your page, and once you click create or save as draft, the actual content — everything on the page itself — will be duplicated on this new page.

Duplicating a page
Duplicate a page by pressing the duplicate icon

Deleting pages

You can always delete a page by clicking the trash can in the Page settings.

Deleting a page
Delete a page by pressing the trashcan icon
Good to know
You cannot undo a page delete operation. The only way to restore a deleted page is to restore a project backup from the versions tab of your Project Settings. Learn more about project versions.
Make sure to set 301 redirects for pages you delete in your project.
You cannot delete a page that is set as the home page. If you need to delete the home page, first set another page as the homepage, then delete the old home.

Organizing pages

You can organize pages by reordering them or placing them in folders. You can also use the page search feature to quickly locate your pages and folders.

Reordering pages

To sort your pages, open the Pages panel and drag the page by grabbing the drag handle that appears on the left when you hover over the page name. Then, drop it where you want it in the page list.

Drag to reorder pages and folders

Organizing pages within folders

You can organize pages within folders which you can create by clicking the create new folder icon in the Pages panel.

Creating a folder

You can either drag-and-drop a page inside of a folder or use the parent folder setting within the page settings of any page to move a page into that folder. You can also do the opposite to remove pages from folders either by dragging them outside of a folder or setting the parent folder to none. Learn more about folders.

Good to know
 A blue line will indicate where you're about to place the page. 
Dragging a page over a folder will highlight the folder in blue, and dropping the page on the highlighted folder will place it within that folder.
Moving pages within or without folders will change the URL path of those pages. If you’ve already published these pages, this will result in broken links. If you want the old URL (/page) to redirect to the new location (/folder/page), read about 301 Redirects.

Searching for pages and folders

To search for a page or folder in your Pages panel: 

  1. Press P to open the Pages panel
  2. Press tab ↹ to focus on the search bar
  3. Start typing the name of your page or folder

Once you find what you're looking for, you can open the page or access the settings of the page or folder like you'd normally do.