Modifying a Collection

 

Once you’ve created a Collection, you can go back and edit collection items, fields, and other settings—even after the project has been published. This article will cover:

  • Editing Collection settings
  • Editing individual Collection items
  • Bulk-editing Collection items

Editing Collection settings

To access the Collection settings, open a Collection in the CMS and click on Settings. You can also click on the settings icon next to the Collection in the Collection Panel.

Collection name

The singular and plural versions of the collection name can be edited at any time after a Collection has been created.

Collection fields

You can add, edit, or remove any fields in your Collection. In each field you can modify the label and help text. Customizing the help text can make it clear to Collaborators what each field is intended for.

 
You can only delete fields that aren’t being used in Collection List filters, conditional visibility, or Collection page settings.

Editing individual Collection items

A Collection is a living, breathing database—it’s constantly growing as you add more items to your Collection. You can make changes to existing Collection items or create new ones at any time in the Designer or the Editor.

 

Bulk-editing Collection items

Especially when working with a large database of content, bulk-editing can be a lifesaver. You can sort or search your content to determine what to edit.

Sorting & Searching

With a Collection open, select the pin icon in the top right corner of the list to show or hide fields in the Collection. You can sort alphabetically or numerically by clicking on the column heading.

 

Using the search bar is another quick way to find exactly what you want to edit.

Bulk-editing

With your items sorted or refined, you can now edit multiple items. Click on the Select button in the top action bar to activate bulk editing. 

You can select your items and perform any of these bulk actions:  

  • Draft - useful if some items are not yet ready to be published
  • Archive - pulls them from the project, but keeps them accessible from the CMS in the Designer or the Editor
  • Delete - permanently removes the Collection items
 
Pro Tip - When in bulk editing mode, SHIFT-click to select a range of items.