Manage site plans

Learn how to add, upgrade, downgrade, and cancel your site plans.

The UI in this lesson may seem different if you've enables the Style Panel Beta! This content will be updated soon!
This video features an old UI. Updated version coming soon!

You can manage the site plan (previously called hosting plan) of any project from your project settings → hosting tab.

project settings → hosting tab →  hosting plans
Type image caption here (optional)
Before you get started

Learn all about: Webflow site plans

In this lesson
  1. See the current site plan
  2. Add or upgrade a site plan
  3. Downgrade a site plan
  4. Cancel a site plan
  5. Transfer a site plan

See the current site plan

In project settings → hosting, you'll see your current site plan. If you haven't already added hosting to this project, your current plan will be the Staging plan.

This is your current site plan. You can upgrade it or cancel it at any time.

Add or upgrade a site plan

Here, also, you'll be able to activate hosting on this project. Or, if the project already has an active hosting, you can upgrade the plan following the steps below.

Must know 
Hosting fees will be charged on the default credit card associated with your account unless you add Client Billing.

Which site plan do I need?

If you do not need to host your site on a custom domain and do not need more pages and features, you can use the free staging plan that allows you to publish your site on the .webflow.io subdomain. On this plan, you can test CMS and Ecommerce features.

If you do not need any CMS or Ecommerce features in your site, you can add a basic plan.

Sites that use CMS features require CMS or Business Hosting

The Basic Hosting option will be disabled for those sites. If you do not need any CMS functionality in your project, make sure to remove all CMS content from your project to re-enable the Basic Hosting option.

Ecommerce sites will need an Ecommerce plan

You won't be able to enable checkout without an active Ecommerce plan.

Upgrading a site with Client Billing requires canceling the old plan first

If you need to upgrade the site plan of a project that you've enabled Client Billing on, first, you'll need to cancel the old plan. Then, you can go ahead and add the new plan you want and set up Client Billing again.

How can I add a site plan or upgrade my current plan?

To add hosting to a project, or to upgrade your current plan:

  1. Select the billing type: annual or monthly — with annual pricing you can pay for a plan upfront at a discounted rate, saving up to 20% compared to paying monthly.
  2. Add the site plan you want
‍Add or upgrade a Webflow hosting plan
Add or upgrade a site plan by selecting the payment frequency and adding the site plan.
  1. OPTIONAL: Set up Client Billing
  2. Confirm the purchase
Pro tip

Before you confirm the purchase of your site plan, please make sure that:

  1. You are adding the right site plan to the right project
  2. You have selected the right billing cycle (annual or monthly)
  3. The amount you will be charged is correct
  4. The card being charged is the right one.
Check the billing period, the amount charged, and the card charged before adding the site plan

How can I switch the billing cycle of your current plan?

If you are on a monthly plan, you can switch to an annual billing cycle on your current plan. Just select annual and then click switch to yearly.

Switch to an annual hosting cycle
If you're on an annual plan, you won't be able to switch to a monthly cycle on the current plan. For help with this, contact our support team.

Downgrade a site plan

If you use CMS in your project, you can downgrade your site plan from Business hosting to CMS hosting. If you're not using CMS, you can also downgrade from any of the higher plans to the Basic plan. Canceling your site plan will downgrade the plan to the Staging plan.

Must know
If you downgrade an Ecommerce Plan to a Website Plan, checkout will be disabled IMMEDIATELY. You need to have an active Ecommerce plan to enable checkout and have a functional store on your domain.

How can I downgrade my plan?

Just like upgrading, to downgrade your plan:

  1. Select the billing typeannual or monthly 
  2. Downgrade to the plan you want
  3. OPTIONAL: Set up Client Billing
  4. Confirm the switch to the lower plan
If you're already on an annual plan, you won't be able to switch to a monthly cycle when downgrading your site plan.

Why can't I downgrade my plan to the Basic plan?

The Basic plan isn't available for sites that use CMS or Ecommerce features. To enable the Basic plan for a CMS site, remove all CMS features from your site, including content collaborators under your Project settings → Editor tab. Then, you can add or downgrade to the Basic site plan.

You cannot downgrade an Ecommerce site to the Basic plan.

Cancel a site plan

Canceling your premium site plan will downgrade you to the Staging plan.

IMPORTANT
Canceling a site plan will immediately remove your custom domains and unpublish your site.

How can I cancel my site plan?

When you choose to cancel to the Staging plan in project settings → hosting, you'll be taken to project settings → billing. Here, you'll be able to:

  1. Check the billing info to ensure you're canceling the hosting of the right project
  2. Cancel the hosting
  3. Confirm the cancelation and acknowledge that your website will be unpublished instantly
Canceling a site plan will immediately remove your custom domains and unpublish your site.

Proration & refund

Webflow prorates plan changes based on your existing balance, credits, and how many days you have left in your billing cycle. 

If you plan to make any changes to your plan, you can find out your prorated charge with this equation: (current monthly price ÷ 30) x (days left in billing period) - (new monthly price ÷ 30) x (days left in billing period) = Total prorated charge or credit

We do not provide refunds,  please refer to section 9 of our Terms of Service. If you have questions about this policy, feel contact us.

Transfer a site plan

Currently, it's not possible to transfer a site plan from one site to another using the Dashboard UI, but this is something we plan to support in the future.

In the meantime, the best thing to do is cancel the site plan for the old site and start a separate site plan on the new site. For more details, contact support.